Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Buttercream

by fattydumpling

Some time ago, I asked for a weekend off work and I nearly fainted from fright.

You see, I hadn’t even completed my first day on the job yet and I was already asking for a weekend off work. Och.

But a celebration was to be had! Some dancing had to be done! Loud and obnoxious singing were in my plans! It was a birthday! It was a party day! It was meet-the-boyfriend-of-the-birthday girl-for-the-first-time day!

Needless to say, I got my days off and another friend and I got cracking on the cake: chocolate cake with a chocolate butter cream in the middle and a strawberry butter cream all around.

Our reaction: Meh. It was too sweet. Cake by itself? GOOOD. Strawberry butter cream by itself? DOUBLE GOOD. It actually tasted like strawberries and sugar! Wow! But when you eat it in a larger portion and all together…didn’t work as well as it could have.

But it’s alright! Still had a blast! Canoeing and eating and card-playing. Birthdays are so fabulous. Unless, you know, they are not fabulous. Then…I hope your next one is happier.

Pumpkin Pasties
We used this One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe from Sips and Spoonfuls.
And then we used the Chocolate Buttercream and Strawberry Buttercream recipes from The Little Red House. The chocolate buttercream tasted like canned frosting—-not an insult! That was not an insult! My sister and I would eat that stuff with our fingers. And the strawberry buttercream tasted like strawberries and sugar. And look at that piping by The Little Red House! We tried to replicate that piped frosting look. However, our lack of supplies (we used a ziploc bag) combined with our mediocre skill resulted in…something different.

