Taste of The Danforth 2011

by fattydumpling

I forgot to take a picture of the festival-goers, so I drew you this picture with my laptop. It’s a beauty: one of my best works. You see that thing on the left? That’s a cake on a table. You can have a slice, if you want.

Spinach pie from Athens Pastries! Or, spanakopita. It’s my first one and it was delicious. It was a huge piece though, so I felt a bit sick after. The cheese pie (tiropita) tasted great too; very savoury and creamy.

So, during this past weekend, I went to my first Taste of The Danforth Festival, an event which celebrates Greek food and culture in Toronto—something I know very little about. I had never been in the Danforth neighbourhood either in all my years as a Toronotonian. The festival was huge, a street was blocked off for festival-goers, and hundreds of people showed up in the hot day to sample foods and watch people dance and do their bits on stage. The lines were long and there were so many people, so I sampled only a few foods before skipping merrily away to spend time elsewhere in Toronto.

Again, a first for me, a beef gyro. Some quick googling explains to me that the first picture shows the meet being roasted on a vertical spit. The man in the picture is cutting bits of the meat off with a small, strange contraption. This tasted delicious as well. I think that sandwiches are always great, especially with newly cooked fillings. Unfortunately, I didn’t catch the name of the restaurant, but kudos to them.

(…How do you pronounce gyro? I was able to duck that bullet by asking for “the beef one”.)

Goodness gracious, everything is a first for me here. This is a piece of baklava (a honey-soaked pastry with plenty of nuts). There’s so many layers! I liked this the most of all the foods I tried. It was such a humongous piece, though. Man. I still haven’t finished it yet.

Now, this is a really bad picture of a roast quail. It looks a little creepy. My mom says that this picture looks like a person. Roast human? Not very appetizing-sounding, eh?

So, yes. Festival complete. Hurrah.

