Granola Cookies

by fattydumpling

“Oh my goodness…you’re a BOY!”

This joke has gotten me in trouble twice in my life. You see, I thought it was funny. The boys…they saw it as an attack on their masculinity. But no, I wasn’t trying to accuse them of being lily livered fools. The line was, in fact,  an opening to break the tension with humour so I could trick them into helping me bake and cook.

You know: Wow, you’re a man! ==> You probably have great upper body strength ==> Hey look, here’s some thick batter that needs mixing ==> Why don’t you help me, you big strong man with muscles, you hunk of pure raw power, you, and er, GRRRRR.

I will never use that line again because it hurts feelings.

—Except one time this week when I said it to my brother. But he understands my awful sense of humour, that dear boy, and joined my sister and I in making some granola cookies with no hard feelings. Yes, we have both a table top and a hand held electric mixer, but there’s something satisfying about vigorously putting effort into your food, eh? And me bro had to sweat for his food.

I like granola. This recipe really allows my tasty granola to shine through too. I really like them, man.

Granola Cookies
Recipe is not mine, but comes from someone on the internet. Unfortunately, I’m not sure who…but I did change it a wee bit.

1 ¼ cup flour
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
½ cup butter
½ cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
2 cups granola
¾ cup chocolate chips (optional)

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat together the butter, sigars, and vanilla with an electric beater until it is fluffy.

Beat in the egg.

Add in the flour and mix in thoroughly.

Stir in the granola and any other extras that you’d like.*

Roll the cookies into little balls about 1 tablespoon or so big or drop the cookies onto a baking sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 13 minutes or until golden brown. Softer when you bake less, crunchier when you bake more.

*Chocolate chips are tasty. In the cookies shown in the pictures, we added a big dollop of Nutella and almonds.

