Cashew Cookies

by fattydumpling

Cashews taste deliciously sweet to me. So does whole grain bread, for that matter. I think that I have a super sensitivity to sweet things.

Do you like sugar?

Really. What a question  to ask.

The better question may be…do you like a whole of sugar?

In my case, I always thought that my heart’s love was benevolently divided in half for both sweet and savoury. I will give my time to both the decadent slice of cake and to that bag of chips that you’re going to share with me. However, I realized one day…I can say no to savoury foods when I am full. However, if you offer me a cookie or a slice of pie…”no” kindly drops away from my vocabulary.

These cashew cookies marries sweet and savoury into a delightful package. It crumbles like shortbread and taste like cashews. They’re greatness.

Cashew Cookies
Adapted only slightly from Sea Salt with Food

250 g all purpose flour, sifted
250 g cashews
150 g Sugar
1 stick (225 g) unsalted butter or margarine, cold and cut into smaller pieces
1 tsp baking powder
1 pinch of salt
a handful of cashew halves
1 egg white for egg wash

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or grease.

Grind cashews in a food processor or blender until it is ground into a floury substance. Be careful that you do not over-grind or else you will have cashew butter.

Mix together flour, ground cashews, baking powder and salt. Cut in the butter until it is uniformly incorporated and the mixture is crumbly.

Mix in the sugar and vanilla. Combine the dough together by hand into a soft dough. Set aside for about 20 minutes.

Using a tablespoon, or guesswork, grab little balls of the dough and roll into balls. Place on cookie sheets, and squish flat to about a third of a centimetre with the bottom of a cup or another flat surface. Press a cashew half in the centre and brush with egg white.

Bake in preheated oven for about 18 to 20 minutes. Mine took less then that, about 15 minutes. Cool on tray for 3-4 minutes (they are soft coming out of the oven!) before cooling on wire racks.

