Manhattan Clam Chowder

by fattydumpling

Admit it. I know that you are some kind of food snob.

You can tell me. I won’t look down on you.

Promise. Cross my heart. I’m a snob too.

So what’s your bane? Frozen TV dinners? Pre-packaged cookies? Fast food? Cookie and cake mixes?

For me…it’s anything that looks at me when I try to eat it. I’ll still eat it. It’s just kinda weird when I can see my food see me. I feel like giving my food a little hello before chowing down.

I know a few people who shy away from seafood.  I like it, but don’t cook it often—so my one of my first forays into seafood involves two easy cans of clams. (Is canned foods anyone’s bane?)

The Manhattan clam chowder that I made is a hearty soup filled with vegetables vying for space and wee baby clams peeking through. It’s truly a belly-warmer for this winter.

So, guys, new years resolution: eat something you hate. Perhaps prepared a different way. It might be delicious. Give it a chance. For my own snobbery, maybe I’ll cover my eyes so at least I don’t see my food looking at me. Then, perhaps, I can finally eat some snails.

Manhattan Clam Chowder
recipe by Company`s Coming

3 bacon slices, diced
1 cup finely chopped onion
1 cup finely diced celery
3 cups water
2 cups diced potato
14 oz. can of diced tomatoes (with juice)
1 cup diced carrot
1/2 cup reserved clam liquid
2 tsp parsley flakes
¾ tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. ground marjoram
¼ tsp. ground thyme
2tbsp. water
2tbs. cornstarch
2 cans of whole baby clams (5 oz. each) and liquid reserved

Cook bacon in large saucepan on medium until almost crisp. Drain all but 2 tsp. drippings. Add onion and celery. Cook for 5 to 10 minutes, stirring often, until onion is softened.

Add next 10 ingredients. Stir. Cook, covered, for 10 to 15 minutes until potato and carrot are tender.

Stir water into cornstarch in small cup until smooth. Slowly add to soup, stirring constantly, until boiling and thickened.

Add clams. Stir. Cook, uncovered, for about 10 mintues, stirring occasionally, until heated through. Makes about 8 cups.

