Pumpkin Bread

by fattydumpling

There are a lot of coffee shops on my university campus. Thus, I usually see many students nursing their first cup of liquid energy early in the morning as they stumble to classes.

The hot drinks aren’t usually the things that lure me into the coffee establishments. It’s the gorgeous promise of sweet confections that ensnares my sugary little heart.

In one of these coffee shops, I saw such a beautiful loaf of pumpkin bread. The bread was cut into thick wedges and was studded with a heavy dose of pumpkin seeds on top. The bread looked so hearty and like such a great treat for that cool fall day that I purchased a piece for consumption.

I settled down with friends, an orange, and a piece of pumpkin bread. Then I ate two of them.

Friends: delightful. Orange: refreshing. Pumpkin bread: too little pumpkin, too many spices. Moist, though. So, I wanted to make my own pumpkin bread to see whether I can top that coffee giant.

I pushed my loaf into the oven while my city had its first snow fall. That felt a little bit weird.

The loaf came out fantastic. The pumpkin taste was definitely evident and there was a nice balance of spices. By throwing on a sprinkling of pumpkin seeds on top of the loaf, my bread was reminiscent of that coffee shop—buuuut…I liked the homemade one more. However, favouring my bread might make the coffee shop bread sad—so, they are both awesome. In their own ways.

Pumpkin Bread
adapted only slightly from Joy the Baker

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tbsp and 2 tsp sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
7.5 oz (or just under 1 cup) pumpkin puree
1/2 cup applesauce
2 tbsp and 2 tsp maple syrup
2 tbsp and 2 tsp water
1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds plus more for sprinkling (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, sugars, baking soda, baling powder, salt and spices.

In a medium bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, applesauce, maple syrup and water.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and use a spatula to fold all of the ingredients together.

Fold in the chopped walnuts and pumpkin seeds, if using.

Pour the dough into the greased pan and sprinkle with pumpkin seeds, if using. Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes. Remove from the oven and let it rest in the pan for 20 minutes before placing on a cooling rack to cool further.

 

1/2 teaspoon salt

