Stuffed Buttercup Squash

by fattydumpling

Grocery stores are like magic to me.

Well, actually, they aren’t like magic to me. Growing up with them meant growing up with the expectation that there would always be big box-like super stores filled to the brim with foodstuffs that I can easily exchange for coins. It never crossed my mind that perhaps a central location filled with food from around the world might be a tad peculiar.

For example, I knew that farmers existed when I was a kid. It’s just that, I thought that farmer existed, well, for me. They grew stuff so I could buy them and then eat them…I was kind of an egocentric kid. It was the best years of my life when I thought the world revolved around me, I tell you.

I eat pumpkin in the summer from Jamaica. I eat bananas flown in year-round from Costa Rica. I swear, I will bite your head off if you try to take my flours away (grown in Canada, but not in my native province of Ontario).

I live a luxurious life here in Canada. Thank you kindly. I am thankful. Truly.

So, I grabbed an Ontario buttercup squash for some ‘local’, seasonal eating the other night. Chopped open, the buttercup squash glowed a surprisingly bright orange—as if a kid took a sunshine orange crayon and smeared colour all up and over the vegetable.

Instructions to note: Take squash. Chop in half. De-seed and de-gunk. Roast seeds. Om nom nom. Roast squash halves. Fill squash with stuff you like. Om nom nom again.

The squash tasted great. I stuffed my squash halves with black and brown rice, adzuki beans, shallots, garlic, and kale, but I bet almost anything would taste great inside a buttercup squash. (Nevermind that most of my stuffings came halfway around the world to me despite my ‘local’ attempt.)

Rich and sweet and fluffy…it feels like a treat.

Stuffed Buttercup Squash

1 squash
olive oil
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut the squash in half and take out the gunk in the center.

Brush olive oil on its insides and sprinkle some salt and pepper on it.

Place the squash halves cut-side down on a baking sheet and roast for 30 to 45 minutes until flesh is soft.

Once finished, take the squash out and stuff with your desired filling and enjoy

Roasted Winter Squash Seeds
from All Recipes

1 cup winter squash seeds
1 tbsp olive oil
salt

Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.

Rinse seeds and pat dry.

Toss the seeds with the olive oil and a sprinkling of salt.

Lay the seeds in a single layer on a baking sheet.

Bake for 15 minutes and cool before serving.

