Carrot Muffins

by fattydumpling

Give me a muffin. That is stout and delicious.

Whose top is chewy.

Crispy.

Hard.

Crunchy.

Whose belly is soft and fragrant.

I want my homemade muffins have muffin tops like those coffee shop muffins. With those crunchy, chewy edges. Edges that hang over the side. But those coffee shops have a secret that I do not know.

No, do not give me a cakey muffin. That’s a cupcake.

I don’t want a cupcake.

I want an ugly cupcake.

I want a muffin hearty enough to be called breakfast.

A muffin that is strong.

A superhero muffin…like superman. Or wonderwoman. It’s supawondamuffin. To the rescue.

Give me a good muffin…and I will marry you on the spot.

No jokes.

Carrot Muffins
adapted only slightly from Robin Hood

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup natural bran
2 1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup apple sauce
3 cups carrots, grated
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
1/2 cup raisins

Combine flour, sugar, bran, spices, baking soda, baking powder and salt in mixing bowl.

Beat eggs and applesauce together.

Stir in carrots.

Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir just until moistened.

Stir in nuts and raisins.

Fill greased muffin cups 3/4 full.

Bake at 375°F (190°C) for 25-30 minutes or until top springs back when lightly touched.

