Baked Kale Chips

by fattydumpling

Goodness gracious, ladies.

Good God, men.

Today is Hallows’ Eve. It is the peak of autumn. And I need to put on my armour tonight in order to fight off the armies of zombies and badies that rise.

This is one time of the year when I can don a costume and walk the streets a free constume-wearer-person. I will rub shoulders with werewolves, super heroes, cereal boxes, bad puns, ninjas… This is one time of the year when I won’t be able to tell whether they are real or not. Costumed or not.

Come out, elves. Come out, hobbits. Come out, giant talking ducks. This is one time of the year when people won’t point and stare. We’ll fit in together this evening. Let’s boogie.

Before dancing out to implore strangers for candies, I’m going to tell you about Baked Kale Chips. Have you heard about these? Basically, grab some kale, wash, dry, rip up, and bake. The result will be dried kale pieces that, after salting, if you’d like, taste just like potato chips. Or seaweed. It’s a cross between potato chips and seaweed.

They’re crunchy. Thin. Sometimes dusty. Crazy cool snack.

When my world’s turning into reds, browns, and oranges, I’m going to eat my greens. And then run out my door now to slay some dragons. Happy Halloween, friends.

Baked Kale Chips
modified from multiple internet recipes and Dan Barber

1 bunch kale
1 tbsp olive oil
Sea salt to taste

Wash and dry the kale. Cut off the hard stems. Rip the kale into chip-size pieces and mix by hand with the olive oil in a large bowl.

Lay the kale pieces in a single layer on either a parchment-lined baking sheet or a greased one. Bake in a preheated 250 degrees Fahrenheit oven for about 30 minutes.

Once done, sprinkle with salt and serve.

