Carrot Bread

by fattydumpling

Oh, my parents make me laugh. In a good way, mind you. They’re just too funny sometimes.

Like everyone else, I’m sure, my relationship with my parents is complicated. We have our good times. We have our bad times. Then we have worse times. But then we have fantastic times. I’m lucky to have parents who care about me, though. I like to believe that my parents think that they are lucky to have a child who cares about them too.

Well, this child of theirs is a major nerd and stayed in her university town to study during this past Canadian long Thanksgiving weekend instead of visiting home.  It’s no biggie—we don’t celebrate turkey day. And I get to spend some time with my family when I visit next weekend.

My mom called me yesterday for a bit of a conversation. And I made mistake after mistake in this particular phone talking business. First, I told her I was sick. Then, I told her that my roommate went home so I was alone in my apartment. I told her that I get scared sometimes in my empty apartment at night when I hear freaky sounds and have to go and check the locks. I then told her that all the girls who lived in the downstairs apartment also went home so I was actually alone in the entire house.

15:34:01 minutes after my mom hung up, my parents called me up again to give me advice about how to stay safe. I spent the next half hour making promises that I will indeed keep my first new cell phone close to me (it currently stays in its nice snug designated spot on my dresser when I go to school). I promised that when I get lonely, I will indeed go and have a super fun sleepover at my old roommates’ place down the street. I promised that if the situation ever came up,where 5 angry dangerous men were trying to break down my door, I would run down into the basement.

(fattydumpling: But ma…the door opens from my side, the dangerous people can get down into the basement too. fattydumplingmama: It’ll be safer for you to be with the three other girls. fattydumpling: But there’s no way to get out of the basement, shouldn’t I run outside? fattydumplingmama: Not when the three dangerous men are outside waiting for you! Run into the basement! The basement!)

I’m a good kid. I listen to my parents.

When my family visited me about a week ago, I planned on baking a carrot cake to celebrate the anniversary of my mama’s birth. Unfortunately, my dad bought a cake from an Asian bakery. His sweet heart meant that we all got to have a piece of the delicious thang to celebrate my mum—but paw! I could have baked a cake for you all!

So, my plans changed and I baked a carrot bread instead. And then fed it to my family. We had a good time.

Carrot Bread
adapted from Sparkling Ink

9 ounces (250 g) carrot puree (about 4 carrots)
1 ¼ tsp active dry yeast
1/2 tsp salt
1 ½ tbsp sugar
about 2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tablespoon olive oil

Carrot Puree
With a vegetable peel, peel the carrots. Slice the carrots into uniform thin slices. Steam the carrots until they are cooked, about 20 minutes. Once the carrots have cooled a little, blend them into a puree in a food processor or blender. Add a bit of water, if needed.

Carrot Bread
Put the carrots in a large microwavable bowl and warm up the carrot puree in a microwave until a little warmer then hand temperature. Stir in the yeast and leave it alone for 10 minutes. Mix in the salt and sugar. (At this point, you can add in nuts if you’d like. The original recipe calls for peanuts, I added pecans. Mix them in!)

Start gradually adding the flour, using your hands once it gets to heavy for your spatula. Towards the end of the flour, mix in the oil, and finish off with the remaining flour. Be sure that your dough is soft and sticky. Add more flour if it’s too wet, though. Cover the bowl with a kitchen towel and leave in a warm place to rise for about one hour.

Shape the bread and lay on a greased baking sheet or a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Cover it again with the kitchen towel and let it rise for another hour. Score the top of the bread with a sharp knife. Bake in a pre-heated 400 degrees F oven on the lowest level for about 25 minutes. Let it cool. Tastes awesome with cream cheese.

