Moonblush Tomatoes

by fattydumpling

I’ve been in school for nearly two weeks now. I am in school in order to learn of and memorize dusty theories conjured by old men sitting in their old man thinking chairs, wearing their old man thinking caps, and smoking their old man thinking pipes, pondering their old man thoughts.

Hmmmm, the old men would ho-hum. Hmmmmm. What human behaviour shall I explain away today…

Before I left home for Guelph in order to take part in this serious study of old men thoughts in university, I was too impatient to wait for the sun to dry my tomatoes. My mom’s friend had gifted her with a bag of wee home-grown baby tomatoes, and she in turn, gave me the power to decide how the red things would end up in our bellies. I chose Nigella Lawson’s recipe for Moonblush tomatoes because it sounded neat. And pretty.

How pretty? Pretty like a name for a unicorn in those little kiddie books that I used to read. About some bookworm girl who finds out that she is the long lost princess of Faerie? And she now must join forces with the unicorn prince in order to save their magical world? From Queen whatsherface’s destructively evil takeover and plans to obliterate all remaining unicorns from their world and ours? You know?

And, well, the tomatoes, I find, came out pretty neat. Instead of using the sun to dry them out, Nigella uses an oven overnight. Next time, I’d probably halve the amount of salt. But overall, I think that I enjoyed the look of them more and wanted to share how pretty they are with you. They’re so bright!

The day after I made these tomatoes, I left for school. By leaving for school, I also left my family figuring out what to do with this experiment. I imagine that they’d be great tossed into a salad or pasta. But my family’s not a salad or pasta people. I can imagine my loyal mom snacking on random tomato halves while the rest of my family glances suspiciously…thanks, mom :)

Moonblush Tomatoes
from ‘Nigella Express’ by Nigella Lawson

500g (about 24) on-the-vine cherry or other baby tomatoes
2 tsp Maldon salt or 1 tsp of table salt
1/4 tsp of sugar
1 tsp dried thyme
2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees Celsius

Cut the tomatoes in half and sit them cut side up in an ovenproof dish. Sprinkle with the salt, sugar, thyme and olive oil.

Put them in the oven, and immediately turn it off. Leave the tomatoes in the oven overnight or for a day without opening the door.

