Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

by fattydumpling

When I live at home with my family, my sister and I have to strategically plan our baking and cooking endeavours. Spontaneous cooking could result in terrible distress from my parents and brother. If we offered to make dinner: “But you make weird white food…” If the sun chose to be particular bright one day, the oven is forbidden with a passion. If we want to make something sweet, you can feel the dread settle quietly from our parents’ fear of yet another sugary creation that might turn out…sugary.

After our parade of grand new creation reaches our brother, you can be sure his response would be to take a bite, say “ew”, grab another cookie and walk away. I have grown to consider that a compliment.

Upon finding blueberries at a farmer’s market, I lapped it all up for fresh eating, smoothies, and yes, baking.

I had been craving oatmeal chocolate chip muffins something fierce. When I eat oatmeal things, I like them really oaty. I must be able to taste the oats and feel that chewy texture. Joy the Baker’s recipe for Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins appeared to fit the bill for having tons of oats, appearing healthy with the applesauce and whole wheat flour, and looking great. Yeah. I’m shallow. Pictures can really convince me when considering a recipe.

When I saw the blueberries on that cool afternoon, I found a great reason to bake muffins. The weather was nice, I could use a local fruit, and we needed a new breakfast food! I think my family reacted positively.

Half of the batter was patterned with blueberries and strawberry chunks. The other half wad decorated with chocolate chips.

Holy yum.

The fruit muffin came out delicious but particularly wet because of the moisture from the strawberries. In comparison, the oatmeal chocolate chip muffins were just awesome. Oaty, moist, hard tops (a MUST for muffins, in my opinion), and chocolate…greatness.

Upon finding blueberries in a farmer’s market, I lapped it all up for fresh eating, smoothies, and yes, baking.

I had been craving oatmeal chocolate chip muffins something fierce. When I eat oatmeal things, I like them really oaty. I must be able to taste the oats and feel that chewy texture, because that’s what oats entails for me. Joy the Baker’s recipe for Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins appeared to fit the bill for having tons of oats, appearing healthy with the applesauce and whole wheat flour, and looking great. Yeah. I’m shallow. Pictures can really convince me when considering a recipe.

When I saw the blueberries on that cool afternoon, I found a great reason to bake muffins. The weather was cool, I could use a local fruit, and we needed a new breakfast food! I think my family reacted positively.

Half of the batter was patterned with blueberries and strawberry chunks. The other half wad decorated with chocolate chips.

