Spaghetti with Chicken Meatballs

by fattydumpling

On top of spaghetti, all covered with cheese, I lost my poor meatball, when somebody sneezed.

It rolled off the table, and onto the floor, and then my poor meatball, rolled out of the door.

It rolled off the front porch, and under a bush, and then my poor meatball, was nothing but mush.

So, when you’re eating spaghetti, all covered with cheese, hold onto your meat balls, whenever you sneeze.

My goodness, autumn is already here. Autumn is already here and is chasing poor summer away with rainfalls and wind gusts. I’m not complaining—I adored the chance to wear my rain boots and splash through the puddles that had accumulated. My dad nearly killed himself laughing when he saw my sister and I in our rain boots, though. I don’t know why, he couldn’t speak lest he interrupt his hearty guffaws.

It took me a while, but I finally know why I always see nice little old ladies and little old men drive up to the grocery store by my home and buy boxes upon boxes of tomatoes—tomato sauce! How amazing! Homemade sauce?! Who would have thunk that it was possible? I cannot believe that sauce exists outside of those glass and tin jars and cans.  Is it safe? I should really start living outside of my grocery store that has everything at every time of the year.

Making my own tomato sauce and meatballs was indeed a funny experience. I hear it all the time, but tomatoes seriously taste good when they’re seasonal—they’re red! Like in my picture books! My mind is blown away. I want to see what other things that I can replicate from my grocery store.

Spaghetti with Chicken Meatballs
Adapted from Homestyle Chicken

TOMATO SAUCE
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 kg (4 lb 8 oz) tomatoes, roughly chopped
2 bay leaves
1 large handful basil
1 teaspoon coarse ground black pepper

MEATBALLS
500 g (1lb 2 oz) ground chicken
60 g (2 1/4 oz) grated parmesan cheese
160 g (51/2 oz/2 cups) panko crumbs*
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 egg
1 tsp dried parsley*
1 tsp dried sage*
60 ml (2 fl oz/ 1/4 cup) oil
500 g (1 lb 2 oz) spaghetti
2 tbsp chopped oregano, to serve

1.To make the tomato sauce, heat the oil in a large saucepan, add the onion and fry for 1-2 minutes. Add the tomato and bay leaves, cover and bring to a boil, stirrig occasionally. Reduce heat to low, partially cover and cook for 50-60 minutes.

2.In a large bowl, mix yogether the chicken, parmesan, breadcrumbs, garlic, egg, dried herbs, and some freshly ground pepper. Shape tablespoons of the mixture into small balls and chill for 30 minutes to firm. Heat the oil in a shallow frying pan and fry the balls in batches until golden brown, turning often by shaking the pan. Drain on paper towels and cover with aluminum foil to keep warm.

3. Add basil and pepper to the tomato sauce**, and simmer, uncovered, for 10-15 minutes. Cook the spaghetti in boiling water until al dante. Serve the pasta in individual bowls with sauce and meatballs, sprinkled with fresh oregano.

*The original recipe calls for fresh white bread crumbs and fresh herbs.

* *The original recipe calls for the meatballs to be added to the tomato sauce as well. Originally, after cooking, the meat balls  are slight crispy, and tastes good. If you add it to the tomato sauce to simmer…they might become gummy and weird.

Chocolate Chip Blondies
Adapted From Mom’s Big Book of Baking

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter (I used margarine)
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup chocolate chips (Add what you like: walnuts, dried cherries, gargoyle toenails…)

