Hummus

by fattydumpling

I like chewing. I like textures. I like nomming. I like chewy, crunchy, sticky, gummy, dense, crackly, poppy…I like going CRUNCH CRUNCH CRUNCH.

Imagine my surprise a few years ago when I realized that I liked hummus. Fatty Dumpling? The girl who enjoys eating ice, among other hard things–likes this pasty doodad?

Hummus is smooth—it can be lumpy, yes, but overall, it is a smooth chickpea spread. But…I like it. Alone. Or with bread (like the sunflower rye that they sell in that place to eat on my campus). Or with pita, or with crackers, or in sandwiches, or on veggies, or off of fingers…

MMMMM. I swoon.

This recipe makes hummus the way that I like it. Not too lemony or sour. Not bland. It’s savoury and good. Must be the cumin.

Hummus
Adapted from Fresh with Anna Olson

1 19 oz (540 mL) can of chick peas, drained and rinsed
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3 Tbsp (45 mL) tahini sesame paste
2 Tbsp (30 mL) of lemon juice
2 Tbsp (30 mL) of olive oil
1/4 (1 mL) Tsp of salt
1 tsp (5 mL) of cumin

Purée all of the ingredients in a food processor or blender until smooth. (If you want a smoother consistency, add cold water, a little at a time, until desired smoothness is reached.) Serve with veggies like celery and carrots, or with bread, or in sandwiches etc.

