Chocolate Chip Blondies

by fattydumpling

Hullo, friends.

I was plodding through the snow yesterday on my way to school when I passed by something that made me chuckle. It was something that was disgustingly cute. If I rated it on the cheeze scale, I would have to give it something between small town charms and Hallmark skills. Farmer Guelph makes me grin sometimes. Would you like to know what that thing was?

I was rather cold. I did need to find some warmth. If I had to guess what people would leave behind in their foot steps, I would have to say that they may leave bits of yearnings behind. Squirrel may leave chunks of stolen Bob’s Dogs behind. Cars might leave…memories of their first owner behind? Oh, those poor, poor second hand cars.  Let’s hope that their lives are filled with tasty gasoline and nice toasty garages to sleep in. I couldn’t find my name in any of those footsteps…But seriously, this little fluorescent pink flier made me laugh. I’m glad that there are still romantics out there.

I almost forgot that this month contains the day to celebrate lurveelurveeson. Do you know someone who is not discriminatory at all when giving their love? I do.  And that person just so happens to be…food. Yesterday, my mind was blown away when I realized that blondies existed. Blondies?! I like brownies. Brownies are delicious. Thus, blondies must be delicious as well, right? Of course! Everything is delicious!  Let’s not discriminate, now. Or is generalizing just as bad? Stereotyping? Am I bullying brownies now? Well, I sure am eating them without any guilt.

Chocolate chip blondies. The blondies are of mixed heritage. How hilarious is that? They’re pretty tasty too. Soft things. Chewy bits. I like the random chunks of chocolate the most.

Chocolate Chip Blondies
Adapted From Mom’s Big Book of Baking

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter (I used margarine)
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup chocolate chips (Add what you like: walnuts, dried cherries, gargoyle toenails…)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Butter an 8 inch square baking pan.

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over low heat. Remove it from the heat. Stir in the brown sugar until it is dissolved. Quickly whisk in the egg and vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour batter into the prepared baking pan. Bake until they are just set in the center, about 25-30 minutes.

Let them cool. Cut into 16 squares. Eat them. Smile.

